Grand Final Photos Summer 2021-2022 (Seniors)

Div 1 Grand Final – Comets v Bonnet Bay (Cubs)

Comets won 11 – 0 (mercy after 7)

The team came up with a game plan and executed it perfectly. That involved a number of players sitting out the Grand Final. Only 11 of the 16 players on the roster entered the game, although everyone was there to support the team.

Brett Elliott started on the mound and pitched 6 innings for 2 hits, 4 SO, 1 walk and 0 runs. Marcus Fisher pitched the last innings for 1 hit, 1 SO, 2 walks and 0 runs.

As a team, they batted .321 with three batters having sac flies to right field (Anthony Grigg, Brett Elliott & Chad Jones) which scored 5 of their 11 runs.

A 3-run homer was hit by Heath Fisher (over left field fence)  there was another hit that landed 1m short of the right field fence and bounced over for a stand-up double. Doubles were hit by Heath Fisher, Anthony Grigg and Jackson White (2)

Brett Elliott was awarded MVP by the umpires, for his pitching efforts.

Comets expected a much stronger fight from the Cubs, perhaps they played their GF the week before when they beat Bosco Navy in 12 innings to get into the GF.

That, coupled with pretty ordinary playing conditions (light rain throughout most of the game), may have accounted for the result. The ground, itself, was in excellent condition and it’s a testament to the work Eastern Suburbs Baseball Club (hosts) and Henry Twaddell, in particular, put in that it stood up to the extra rain it got on the day.

Henry was tireless in repairing wet spots and manicuring the dolomite between games, and a small army of players and groundsmen helped move covers on and off the bases and the mound when the rain got a little heavier.  We were extremely fortunate to get the three games played at all, given the weather over the past few weeks.


Back Row: Left to Right

Brock Dodd, Karl Jorgensen, Jackson White, Marcus Fisher, Anthony Grigg

Middle Row: Left to Right

Scorer: Graham Grigg, Bryce Fisher, Heath Fisher, Lachlan Ryan, Bryce Lincoln, Joel Peeters, Daniel Carberry

Front Row: Chad Jones, Brett Elliott

Front: Harry Cooper (holding premiers plaque)